Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides from other libraries with useful information on patents.
Resources for Patents
Birmingham, AL Public Library Patents and Trademarks
The Government Documents Department of the Birmingham Public Library is a designated Patent and Trademark Resource Center. Trained staff members are available to assist you with your patent or trademark search, Monday-Friday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. Call 226-3620 for more information.
Canadian Industrial Designs Database
Search Canadian industrial designs from 1861 to the present.
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
This database lets you access 149 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,320,000 patent documents.
DNA Patent Database
This database serves as a resource for policy makers and members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DNA Patent Database (DPD) contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text of such patents and applications available to users at no cost.
Espacenet Patent Search
With its worldwide coverage and simple search features, Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
European Patent Office Database
Includes international patent searching with varying years of coverage depending on the country
Requires registration to access PDFs of patents. Allows for RSS feeds and PDF and XML data downloads.
Google has a search feature specifically for patent information.
Provides side-by-side comparison of up to 20 free and commercial patent search databases with a required free registration.
Free patent printing site (U.S. only)
The Lens serves nearly all of the patent documents in the world as open, annotatable digital public goods that are integrated with scholarly and technical literature along with regulatory and business data
United States Patent and Trademark Office
The U.S. Federal Agency that grants U.S. patents and registers trademarks.
United States Patent Statistics
Patent statistical reports based on organization, geographical location, technology, and inventor.
World Intellectual Patent Office
Under PatentScope, contains 1 million world patents and patent applications; will have a WO prefix. When viewing patent, click on "Document" to download in PDF, ZIP, or XML.
Other Patents Resources
Patent Searching Made Easy by
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
For the novice searcher, Nolo Press offers an entertaining guidebook to help him or her through the process. Patent Searching Made Easy explains step-by-step how to use an Internet browser to search U.S. patents. It discusses how to classify an invention properly, and then, using that classification, find all relevant patents issued since 1971.
Patent, Copyright and Trademark by
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
- an overview of patent, copyright, trademark and trade secret law- straightforward explanations of the scope of protection each device offers- clear, concise definitions of the terminology in use with contextual examples- cutting-edge definitions of new terms spawned by the Internet- sample non-disclosure agreements and patent, copyright and trademark forms.
Patent Law Essentials by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The fourth edition of this indispensable guide provides a simple and accurate introduction to the dynamics and mechanics of patent law, updated with the latest court decisions and reform legislation.