LibGuides: Physics: Faculty Resources

Professional Organizations

Grants

Data Management Plan Tool
Granting agencies want to know your data management plan. This free tool walks you through the creation of your data management plan based on funding organization and discipline. It also has numerous examples of successful DMPs to give you ideas and direction.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov lists all current discretionary funding opportunities from 26 agencies of the United States government, including the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and many others. Free and no subscription required.
The National Science Foundation
An independent federal agency, the U.S. National Science Foundation funds approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted at America's colleges and universities.
Newton's List
Newton's List seeks to facilitate international science cooperation by providing a forum for grantseekers and funders. The site is a free resource open to individuals searching for international funding and organizations looking to market their grants to an international audience.
Simons Foundation
Targeted Grants in MPS

Publishing

Cabells
Cabells is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size.
Your Research Impact
A useful guide from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville about how to determine your impact as a researcher.
Physics World
Automated, searchable directory of conference, workshops and other educational opportunities for physicists. It is also the official conference upload facility for the European Physical Society.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

The term Open Educational Resources (OERs) refers to any education material that is in the public domain or has been issued with an open license. Anyone can use and adapt these materials for their teaching needs. Below are some collections of OERs with materials relating to mathematics and statistics.

Boundless
Contains text, video, and other content related to physics topics such as kinematics, the laws of motion, fluids, magnetism, heat and much more.
College Open Textbooks
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Merlot
Provides access to curated open access class content that includes lessons on many topics such as calculus-based physics, particle physics, electricity, magnetism, and many others . It also includes instructor-made videos, tutorials for using new software, and test/quiz examples.
OER Commons
An online platform with Open Access tools such as lectures, games, labs, simulations, and lesson plans on a variety of subjects. This platform also allows you to share open access materials of your own.
OpenStax
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University with a mission to improve student access to education. It contains textbooks for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students and is also a platform for creating open access textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
This textbook library includes free textbooks in subjects such as light and matter, calculus-based physics, as well as general university physics.
The Particle Adventure
An interactive your of quarks, neutrinos, antimatter, extra dimensions, dark matter, accelerators and particle detectors from the Particle Data Group of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Teaching Resources

Librarian

Joi Williams

Email Me

Contact:

256-372-8092

Library Information

Course Reserves Policy
Reserve materials for your classes here at the library.
Add to the Library Collection
Submit your library purchase recommendations here. No textbooks please.
Request Class Instruction Sessions
Our Research and Information Literacy team can provide research instruction for your class.
Request Individual Instruction
Do you or one of your students need individual research assistance? Request it here.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find what your looking for in our collection? Request it from a neighboring institution in Interlibrary Loan.