Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LRC Access Services: Dissertations/Theses Requests

Request Form Link

Important Information

In many cases a Dissertation or Thesis is not available for loan from the granting Institution.  We DO process the requests but  the final decision rests with the lending library.  These documents may be the only print copy available and in those cases are rarely loaned. 


Your personal options for finding Dissertations and Theses:

Open access and more!   

** denotes International services                                               


If the LRC cannot get a thesis or dissertation requested through Interlibrary Loan, you may purchase it yourself through UMI (University Microforms International) via Dissertation Express.   The average cost for a dissertation is $32. 


** Australasian Digital Thesis Program provides access to theses from Australian and New Zealand institutions. Up to 5,000 available for free download.  Terms and conditions may apply.


**Thesis Canada Portal contains abstracts of Canadian theses since 1965; full text versions are available from 1998-2002. Terms and conditions may apply.


**DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations(NDLTD).



**
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.  You may register for free and use the open access materials at no charge.  Please note that not all of the material is free and the LRC is unable to fund requests for the dissertations that have costs attached.


**The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). ... support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. The website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community. 


PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access and the service is limited to the number of items granted that status.


WorldCat Advanced Search Worldwide coverage of dissertations in libraries from around the globe.   Set the content limit to Thesis/Dissertations.

Please read and follow the registration and guidelines for use for each resource.

Government Docs Specialist

Profile Photo
Chassity Burns
Contact:
256-372-4712