Monday-Friday
8 am to 5 pm
By appointment only
(256) 372-4720
ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today with unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom. This service is FREE for the J.F. Drake Memorial Learning Resources Center (Drake LRC) registered users.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints provides FamilySearch free of charge to everyone, regardless of tradition, culture, or religious affiliation. FamilySearch resources help millions of people around the world discover their heritage and connect with family members.
We help people discover their family’s history through our website, mobile apps, and in-person help at over 5,000 local family history centers. This service is FREE to everyone. Create an account and build your family tree.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you. Learn more.
The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions. Follow this link to use the 1950 census. This service is FREE to everyone.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors. Whether you are new to the Library of Congress or an experienced researcher, we have a world-class staff ready to assist you online and in person.
These collections are FREE to everyone. Begin your search here.
The ACPL Genealogy Center is a unique and valuable resource for the Northeastern Indiana community and the entire genealogical community at large. We have one of the largest research collections available, incorporating records from around the world. Our staff specializes in genealogy and is always available to help. These collections are FREE. Contact Allen County Library' Genealogy Center (Indiana) for more information about access.
NGS blazed new trails establishing itself over the years as a leader in genealogical education with its conferences, seminars and workshops, research tours, books, magazines and journal. The society introduced the acclaimed NGS Home Study Course in American Genealogy in 1981 and now offers cloud-based, online courses in American Genealogy plus special subject matter courses developed by leading experts in the field. PAID memberships are available for youth ages 14 to 24 for $25. Dues increase once a member turns 25.
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 860 million+ pages of historical newspapers from 27,500+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond. Newspapers provide a unique view of the past and can help us understand and connect with the people, events and attitudes of an earlier time. This is a PAID service available alone or with Ancestry.com.
Newspapers.com is perfect for:
Bringing together billions of historical records, millions of family trees, and millions of enthusiastic family researchers, Ancestry® is the world’s largest online family history resource and the best place to build a family tree, find new ancestors, and share discoveries with family. This service offers a 14-day trial period free of charge. A subscription will be required to access all features of Ancestry.com.