Skip to main content

University Archives and Special Collections

 

Welcome to University Archives and Special Collections (also University Archives) at Alabama A & M University.  The University Archives is proud to serve as the official memory of the University, from its founding and establishment in 1875 to the present day.  For assistance with research using our archival collections, please complete this form:  https://aamu.libwizard.com/f/archivesrequest.  A member of University Archives' staff will follow-up with you within 48 hours.

Mission of University Archives and Special Collections

The mission of University Archives and Special Collections at Alabama A & M University is to manage information sources by and about the University in support of administration, teaching, research, and to service.  To this end, the University Archives will:

  • Collect, appraise, organize, preserve, and digitize records of enduring value in all formats created by administrators, faculty, students, and alumni;
  • Support research and teaching by making available and encouraging the use of its collections by university, local and national stakeholders;
  • Provide information services which support University administrators in the performance of their duties; and
  • Promote knowledge and understanding of Alabama A & M University's unique history as a Historically Black College and University and as an 1890 Land-Grant Institution.

Collections

Collections held within University Archives range from the late 1800s to the present.  The collections available in University Archives are included, but not limited to:

  • Office of the President
  • Alumni/Office of Alumni and Public Relations
  • Associations, Conferences and Organizations
  • Athletics
  • Campus Buildings
  • College Functions/Social Events
  • Functions Special Collections
  • Students/Alumni
  • Campus Publications

These collections include documentation from each administration, building histories, notable alumni, faculty, yearbooks, athletics, and more.

From the AAMU Publications Collection

Normal Index, December 1962. 

From the AHAC Collection

1964 Annual Report of the Association of Huntsville Area Contractors

From the Athletics Collection

Magic City Classic, 1955. "The Victory Ride."

From the Office of the President Collection

Original Copy of A&M's Alma Mater, as written by Joseph F. Drake

From the Athletics Collection

1919 Football Team

From the Athletics Collection

1972 Homecoming Parade, Mary Treadwell