Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Search Document Collections

Government Resources

General Topics in Government Documents

Ask a Librarian if you need more help. 


American Community Survey    The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities.  It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce. 
Annual Energy Review


Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets 
Beige Book  Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District 
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids 
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present 
Budget of the United States Government


Catalog of U.S. Government Publications the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. 
Census of Population and Housing 
Code of Federal Regulations  The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government 
Code of Federal Regulations List of CFR Sections Affected The List of CFR Sections Affected lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title. 
Compilation of Presidential Documents 
Condition of Education

Congressional Serial Set
Congressional Directory 
Congressional Record (daily) 
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices 
Country Reports on Terrorism 
Country Studies 

Diplomatic List 
Economic Indicators 
Economic Report of the President


Federal Communications Commission

Federal Register  Each day Federal agencies publish numerous documents in the Federal Register, including proposed rules, final rules, public notices, and Presidential actions. 

Federal Trade Commission
Financial Report of the United States Government 
Foreign Consular Offices in the United States 
Foreign Relations of the United States 
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports 
Green Book (Ways & Means)  Since 1981, the Committee on Ways and Means has published the Green Book, which presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction.


Handbook of Latin American Studies 
Handbook of North American Indians 
Health, U.S. 
Historical Statistics of the United States, part 1 (.pdf) 
Historical Statistics of the United States, part 2 (.pdf) 
Internal Revenue Bulletin 
International Religious Freedom Report 
Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789


Minerals Yearbook 
Monthly Labor Review 
Monthly Statement of the Public Debt

 
Occupational Outlook Handbook 
Plum Book (United States Government Policy & Supporting Positions) 
Producer Price Indexes 
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States


Senate Journal 
Social Security Bulletin 
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics 
Statutes at Large 
Supreme Court Decisions (Slip Opinions)

Supreme Court--Official reports of
Survey of Current Business



Tax Forms and Publications 
Trafficking in Persons Report 
Treaties in Force


Uniform Crime Reports 
United States Code 
United States Congressional Serial Set 
United States Government Manual 
United States Reports 
United StatesTreaties and Other International Agreements 
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics 

Government Docs Specialist

Profile Photo
Chassity Burns
Contact:
256-372-4712

What is the GPO?

The GPO is the Federal Government's primary centralized resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government in digital and tangible forms.

The agency is responsible for the production and distribution of information products for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House and other Federal agencies, and the courts.


Along with sales of publications in digital and tangible formats to the public, GPO supports openness and transparency in Government by providing permanent public access to Federal Government information at no charge through its Federal Digital System (www.fdsys.gov) and through partnerships with approximately 1,200 libraries nationwide participating in the Federal Depository Library Program.