Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who do I contact?
Alabama U.S. Representatives – Use this directory to find your representative's contact information and House committee assignments.
Alabama U.S. Senators
– Find your senator's contact and biographical information, and view a Senate organizational chart.
Welcome to Government Documents: Quick Info
"Free access to government information for all."
This statement is the basis of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) which started in 1813 after a joint resolution was passed in Congress. As a selective depository the LRC houses many essential government documents in print and electronically, as well as providing discoverability to the material. The documents include books, microfiche, CDs, (if received) DVDs, and websites. They can include laws, regulations, statistics, scientific information, maps, and detailed analysis of exceptionally wide and sophisticated topics including a range of agriculture to education. Library use of these materials is not restricted and materials are made available for use by the general public at no cost. We ask only that the documents be used in house during normal business hours.
The best place to start your search or
check out our subject guides on the tabs above.
USA.GOV ..." create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible to the public anytime, anywhere, via their channel of choice." The easiest access to online documents.
FDSys Search government publications here. More scholarly and detailed; get some training here: Tutorials for FDSys Searching
Government Documents Basic Collection Links:
Publications included in the Basic Collection are vital resources that support the public's right to know about the essential activities of our federal government:
- Budget of the United States Government Issued by the Office of Management and Budget.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications The finding tool for electronic & print publications from the U.S. government. Includes more than 500,000 records since the 1970s. A service of the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office.
- Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (2010) Series CPH-2-1
- Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (2010)
- Series CPH-1-1 Census of Population and Housing: Historic Reports For reports and summaries from previous Censuses of Population and Housing.
- Code of Federal Regulations The CFR is the annual codification of the general and permanent rules of the departments & agencies of the Federal Government.
- Compilation of Presidential Documents Includes both the Daily Compilation of President Documents (2009 - present) and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (historic to 1993).
- Congressional Directory The official directory of the U.S. Congress, including biographies of the members.
- Congressional Record The official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. (1994 to present)
- Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (2014 edition). Contains annotations of decisions of the Supreme Court that affect the interpretation of the Constitution.
- Data and Statistics about the United States Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- Economic Indicators A monthly publication by the Council of Economic Advisers. Includes national economic information, including GDP, income, employment, production, etc.
- Economic Report of the President Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers, outlining the nation's economic progress.
- Federal Digital System (FDsys) Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Federal Register The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as presidential documents. When a federal agency proposes a new rule, this is where the proposal is published so the public can comment.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Part 1)
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Part 2)
- Occupational Outlook Handbook A service of the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this guide provides information about various occupations and their projected change over the coming years.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States Published by the Office of the Federal Register, this publication includes the presidents' writings, addresses and remarks.
- United States Statutes at Large The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.
- United States Code The U.S. Code is the codification of the general and permanent laws of the U.S. by subject matter. Divided into 51 titles.
- United States Government Manual The official handbook of the Federal Government. Includes information about the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches; about quasi-official agencies; about international organizations; and about boards, commissions and committees.
- United States Reports The published opinions of the Supreme Court, including the full text of opinions, orders and other materials issued by the Court. Online version covers 1991 - present.
Government Docs Specialist
News from the GPO
The New Titles page is an easy way to find all the latest documents added to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). It provides access to new documents in many different formats, such as print documents, electronic documents, or eBooks. It also provides information on documents that are still in-process. Users can look for documents in a particular range of time by clicking on specific timeframes, such as Last Seven Days or Last Three Months.