Government Documents: HOME

Alabama U.S. Representatives  – Use this directory to find your representative's contact information and House committee assignments.

Alabama U.S. Senators  –Find your senator's contact and biographical information, and view a Senate organizational chart.

DISCOVERGOV

DiscoverGov searches the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), GovInfo, and many databases and catalogs from across the Federal Government. 

GOVINFO

"Free access to government information for all."

Federal government documents, published by Congress and its agencies, are made available to the public through GPO, the Government Publishing Office and the FDLP, the Federal Depository Library Program. LRC, The Learning Resource Center is a Selective depository that receives items from GPO, maintains the collection in various formats, and makes it accessible to the public. Topics that appeal to everyone include how to get a passport, grow plants, or apply for needed federal assistance. Research historical facts, current hot topics, and anything related to Congress: its proceedings, hearings, laws and regulations. There are many statistics available.  Some  that come from Agriculture, Business and Education are agriculture crop yields, exports and imports, and school crime and violence. 

LRC maintains tangible items while providing links to information through the library catalog and this library guide. We are excited to announce that we are transitioning to a complete digital library. For now, feel free to use the items from our stacks during normal business hours. Librarians are here to assist you, and Inter-library Loan can borrow documents for you from other depositories. 

~~~USA.GOV~~~

                   SEARCH FOR FEDERAL BENEFITS AND SERVICES.                   

            Federal student aid, housing, health, jobs, taxes, scams and much more.      

QUICK ACCESS TO THE MOST POPULAR TITLES:

• ​BUDGET OF THE U.S. GOVERNMENT    U.S. budget for a Fiscal year. (1996-Present)
• CENSUS DATA    Facts about people, places and the economy.  Use statistics to create tables and data sets. 
• CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS (CFR)   Permanent Rules of departments and Agencies.
• COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS   Daily and weekly  official materials of the White House.(1992 to present)
• CONGRESSIONAL DIRECTORY   Biographies and members of Congress.
• CONGRESSIONAL RECORD  Proceedings and debates of Congress. (1994 to present)..
• CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA  Includes Supreme court decisions and analysis. (2014) 
• ECONOMIC INDICATORS.  National economic information, includes income, employment, production.  (1995-Present)
• ECONOMIC REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT    Annual report of the nation's economic progress. (1996-Present)
• FEDERAL REGISTER   A daily journal of agency rules, proposed rules and public notices. (1936-Present)
• HISTORICAL STATISTICS  OF THE UNITED STATES:  COLONIAL TIMES TO 1970 PT. 1 & 2      Statistics: social, political, economic, and geographic development from 1610 to 1970.    
• OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK HANDBOOK  Jobs and projected view of jobs for upcoming years.
• PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS  Presidents' writings, addresses, and remarks. (Hoover, 1929-OBama, 2016)
• UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE  Permanent laws of Congress. (1951-Present)
• SLIP LAWS:   PUBLIC AND PRIVATE LAWS  Most recent proposed laws not yet accepted by Congress. 
• UNITED STATES CODE  Laws organized by subject matter: 51 titles. (1994-2021)
• UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT MANUAL  Agency information from the branches, organizations, boards  and committees. 
• UNITED STATES REPORTS  Supreme court opinions, orders and other materials. (1991-the present)

The New Titles page is an easy way to find all the latest documents added to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). 

It provides access to new documents and those still being processed.  Choices appear in many different formats, such as print, electronic, or eBook. Users can search ranges of time by clicking on specific timeframes, such as Last Seven Days or Last Three Months.