Clinical Psychology: Books

The Handbook of African American Psychology provides a comprehensive guide to current developments in African American psychology. It presents theoretical, empirical, and practical issues that are foundational to African American psychology. It synthesizes the debates in the field and research designed to understand the psychological, cognitive, and behavioral development of African Americans.

"Ideas have spurred the way to human progress, from the earliest cave dweller to the latest frontiers of computers and technology. This is a human-scale distillation of the major ideas which have had the greatest impact on our development through the ages. It includes a huge variety of terms including the intimidating, such as post-modernism, structuralism and chaos theory, the unusual, including alchemy, polyphony and parapsychology, while familiar terms such as civilization and beauty are explained anew."

"The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countries, all tied together by the unifying focus on the role of sign systems in human relations with the environment. It emphasizes theoretical and methodological discussions on the cultural nature of human psychological phenomena, moving on to show how meaning is a natural feature of action and how it eventually produces conventional symbols for communication. Such symbols shape individual experiences and create the conditions for consciousness and the self to emerge; turn social norms into ethics; and set history into motion."

"Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology."

"Named "Reference Book of the Year" by the American Library Association, The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science sets a new standard for psychology references. This edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect all developments in psychology that have occurred since the publication of the second edition. It was edited with the guidance of 36 consulting and associate editors (including 17 past presidents of the American Psychological Association) and now contains many new entries in all major categories of psychology - written by esteemed authorities in their fields."

"The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology is a comprehensive and authoritative study covering the field of applied psychology. It includes articles on various aspects of this subject. Each article (from Academic Failure, Prevention of to Youth, Employment of) provides a focused description of the given topic, intended to inform a broad spectrum of readers, ranging from research professionals through to students and the interested general public. The articles are self-contained and can be read in isolation, but there is a general scheme linking related topics by means of cross-referencing."

"This Fourth Edition of the best book in its field has much timely new material. . . . A brilliant addition is an exploration of how reasonable people can conscientiously follow the same ethical principles yet reach different conclusions . . . an essential sourcebook."

"In his new book, eminent psychologist - Daniel Stern, author of the classic The Interpersonal World of the Infant, explores the hitherto neglected topic of "vitality" - that is, the force or power manifested by all living things.
Within this fascinating book he shows how an understanding of vitality can help the psychotherapeutic process (including a look at the developmental origins of forms of vitality) and looks at how these theories of vitality might fit with our current knowledge of the workings of the brain."