LibGuides: Clinical Psychology: Websites

LibGuides Menu

AAMU Clinical Psychology Checklists

Clinical Psychology Master's
Alabama A&M's clinical psychology program leads to the master's level practice and licensure by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC).
Guidance and Counseling Master's
School counselors are viewed as experienced educators with specialized training in the various components of school guidance and counseling, as it is employed to assist and support students in successful matriculation in their K-12 experiences. This program meets the requirements for certification in K-12 school counseling.

Scholarly Websites

Buros Center for Testing
"We function as the world’s premier test review center, as well as a provider of outreach efforts related to our mission to improve testing, assessment, and measurement practices through consultation and education, with special emphases in psychology and education. "

This is but a small sampling of good websites for clinical psychology. Please feel free to "share" useful websites for inclusion in this guide.

Clinical Trials.gov
A service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health

"ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th edition 1994)
"The DSM-V focuses on its clinical, research, and educational purposes and is supported by an extensive empirical foundation. Our highest priority has been to provide a helpful guide to clinical practice. We hoped to make DSM-V practical and useful for clinicians by striving for brevity of criteria sets, clarity of language, and explicit statements of the constructs embodied in the diagnostic criteria."
National Center for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
We are the center of excellence for research and education on the prevention, understanding, and treatment of PTSD. We are a VA Center, our seven divisions across the country provide expertise on all types of trauma - from natural disasters, terrorism, violence and abuse to combat exposure. The Center provides no direct clinical care, their purpose is to improve the well-being and understanding of individuals who have experienced traumatic events, with a focus on American Veterans. We conduct cutting edge research and apply resultant findings to: "Advance the Science and Promote Understanding of Traumatic Stress.".
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
"The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) conducts and supports research on brain and nervous system disorders. Created by the U.S. Congress in 1950, NINDS is one of the more than two dozen research institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The NIH, located in Bethesda, Maryland, is an agency of the Public Health Service within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NINDS has occupied a central position in the world of neuroscience for more than 50 years."
Schizophrenia.com
"A community-oriented website providing in-depth information, support and education related to schizophrenia and related disorders." Includes personal stories, archives and a newsletter.
Social Psychology Network
"The Social Psychology Network, one of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. In these pages, you'll find more than 20,000 links related to psychology. Social Psychology Network and its partner sites are supported in part by the National Science Foundation {grants listed}."

Evaluating Websites

Evaluating Websites is an important part of finding reliable information. Anyone can create a website so it is important to evaluate the site for reliability. Websites should meet the following criteria to be considered scholarly:

Accuracy: The site contains accurate information

Authority: The site author or organization is a recognized leader or expert in their field.

Currency: The site is current and regularly updated.

Objectivity: The site provides unbiased and objective information.

Coverage: The site adequately covers their topic and maintains comprehensive focus.

Check out our tutorial on the Research Help page for more help on evaluating resources!

Subject Guide

Veronica Henderson

Email Me

Contact:

256-372-4720

Professional Organizations

American Counseling Association
Society of Clinical Psychology (Division 12 of APA)
"Society of Clinical Psychology’s website contains information about the Society, empirically supported treatment listings, publications from the Society and its eight sections, membership applications, meeting information, the current leaders in the Society, and more."
Links to other Clinical Psychology Organizations
A listing of Mental health Organizations divided by regions, divisions, and topics they cover.