Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Education topics. This guide has library resources, internet resources, online journals, and short tutorials to help you develop your research. Please explore the guide and feel free to share your comments through the feedback form.
Alabama Learning Exchange [ALEX]
ALEX is the Alabama State Department of Education sanctioned lesson plan headquarters. Lesson plans and other electronic content, are academically reviewed and cross-referenced to Courses of Study and grade levels.
Proquest Open Dissertations
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
Below you will find links to both websites and databases focused on Education.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator’s Reference Complete is an important tool for today’s educators, providing instant access to more than 1,100 periodicals that cover a wide range of subjects as well as 200 reports from the United States Department of Education.
[database] ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests. Audience: college, teachers, general public
United States Department of Education
Provides information about the Department's offices, programs, information and assistance services, funding opportunities, education statistics, breaking news and many other resources.
Professional Development Collection
Professional educators can search over 530 professional education journals and periodicals and locate the full text of articles from 440 titles and images from 150 titles. The collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
Audience: teachers, college, general public
2016-2017 Alabama State Department of Education Quick Facts
Quick Facts as of February 21, 2017.
Snap shot of general state statistics, facts about public schools, the State Board of Education and financial data.
Alabama State Department of Education Data Center
The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) Data Center is your centralized source for information and reports for educators, policy makers, teachers, parents, school districts, and anyone interested in official data from the ALSDE. Special emphasis is placed on data elements associated with Plan 2020, Alabama’s strategic plan for improving education statewide.
News| Department of Education