LibGuides: Music-Teacher Education: Websites

LibGuides Menu

AAMU Performing Arts Degree Checklists

Performing Arts Degree Choices
The program in Music Education leads to the Bachelor of Science and a Master's of Education degree in music with teaching and non-teaching concentrations.
Class A certification-Choral
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.
Class A certification-Instrumental
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.
5th Year Alternative Certification-Choral
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.
5th Year Alternative Certification-Instrumental
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.
Class B Certification-Instrumental
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.
Class B Certification-Vocal
Students are encouraged to check with their advisor on current checklist for their degree program and certification requirements.

Scholarly Websites

Below you will find some of the MANY websites to help with lessons, planning, assessment, and ideas for the music classroom.

Alabama Learning Exchange [ALEX]
ALEX is the Alabama State Department of Education should be your first stop when researching and/or coordinating lessons to Courses of study. All current Courses of Study are included on the site, along with correlated, peer-reviewed lesson plans for grades K-12.
Carnegie Hall-Education and Community
Inspiring the next generation of music lovers, these programs are the perfect opportunity for students and teachers to make music in their classrooms.  All of the teacher guides, student workbooks, and audio and video resources that make up our school program curricula are available online, free of charge, to educators around the globe.
Mr. Holland's Opus Foundation
The Mr. Holland's Opus Foundation was inspired by the acclaimed motion picture Mr. Holland’s Opus, the story of the profound effect a dedicated music teacher had on generations of students. The foundation donates both new and refurbished instruments to school music programs that lack the resources to keep up with equipment loss due to attrition, depreciation and wear over time, and to accommodate students on waiting lists or who have to share instruments.
New Music-Music Library
The New Music USA Online Library is a vast and comprehensive digital database that contains over 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers, and includes over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores). The Online Library was created by the American Music Center, and, after many evolutions, continues today under the guidance of New Music USA.
PBS Teachers: resources for teachers (Music Search)
PBS Teachers is PBS' national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. We provide thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase, Between the Lions and more.
Alabama State Dept. of Ed.-Arts Educaiton Courses of Study
Each standard is listed (right column), correlating resources are linked (blue numbers) in the left column. Have patience, it might take a while to load.

Evaluating Websites

Evaluating Websites is an important part of finding reliable information. Anyone can create a website so it is important to evaluate the site for reliability. Websites should meet the following criteria to be considered scholarly:

Accuracy: The site contains accurate information

Authority: The site author or organization is a recognized leader or expert in their field.

Currency: The site is current and regularly updated.

Objectivity: The site provides unbiased and objective information.

Coverage: The site adequately covers their topic and maintains comprehensive focus.

Check out our tutorial on the Research Help page for more help on evaluating resources!

Subject Guide

Lenis McBride

she/her

Subjects: History

Professional Organizations

[NEA]-National Education Association
Alabama Education Association [AEA]
Fighting for teachers, education support professionals, and public education in Alabama.
American Orff-Schulwerk Association
"The American Orff-Schulwerk Association is a professional organization of educators dedicated to the creative music and movement approach developed by Carl Orff and Gunild Keetman."
Music Teachers National Association
The MTNA is the preeminent source for music teacher support, where members embody like-minded values and commitment to their students, colleagues and society as a whole, while reaping the rewards of collaboration, continuity and connection throughout the lifetime of their careers.
NAMM Foundation
"The NAMM Foundation is a non-profit organization with the mission of advancing active participation in music making across the lifespan by supporting scientific research, philanthropic giving and public service programs from the international music products industry."
National Association for Music Education
"National Association for Music Education (NAfME), among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers. The Association orchestrates success for millions of students nationwide and has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century."
Organization of American Kodály Educators
"Inspired by the vision of Zoltán Kodály, the mission of the Organization of American Kodály Educators is to support music education of the highest quality, promote universal music literacy and lifelong music making, and preserve the musical heritage of the people of the United States of America through education, artistic performance, advocacy and research."