LibGuides: Music-Teacher Education: Instructional Resources

LibGuides Menu

Elementary Education News from Education Week

Instructional and Scholarly Websites

A B C Teach
The one-stop resource for teachers, parents, and homeschoolers. Has over 5,000 FREE printable pages and worksheets.

Below you will find some of the MANY websites to help with lessons, planning, assessment, and ideas for the music classroom.

Alabama Learning Exchange [ALEX]
ALEX is the Alabama State Department of Education sanctioned lesson plan headquarters. Lesson plans and other electronic content, are academically reviewed and cross-referenced to Courses of Study and grade levels.
PBS Teachers: resources for teachers
PBS Teachers is PBS' national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. We provide thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase, Between the Lions and more.
more...less...
This link is for "music education" search already performed.
TeAch.nology
Contains free and easy to use resources for teachers dedicated to improving the education of today's generation of students. Site features 46,000+ lesson plans, 10,200 free printable worksheets, rubrics, teaching tips, worksheet makers, web quests, math worksheets, and thousands of other great teacher resources.
Music Educator's Marketplace
Music Educators' Marketplace was created in 1998 as a cooperative venture of six music teachers in order to divide the costs and share the benefits of targeted nationwide advertising of their self-published music education teaching aids. Since then nearly fifty Marketers have marketed nearly 200 products through us, and MEM has gained a reputation for offering unique, quality products and personal service. In addition to an online store, they offer blogs, teaching hints, many useful links, and free resources.
Carnegie Hall-Digital Library for Teachers
This invaluable resource for teachers contains educational materials, including activities, lesson plans, worksheets, audio and video resources, and interactive listening guides all searchable and correlated with the National Music Standards. (FREE with registration)
Music Teacher Idea Bank (K-8 Resources)
The Idea Bank contains materials which we hope will be useful and valuable to you as a music teacher. These ideas come from a variety of sources, but mostly we rely on you.
Play a piano--Java interactive game
An on-line synthesizer shows the correlation between math, physics and music. All the tones are created from mathematical equations. An equation is supplied on the bottom of the page.
Virtual Schoolhouse's Music Lites
A fairly diverse set of websites focusing on Music: enjoying it, learning about it, the differing genres, and ways to teach about it.

Evaluating Websites

Evaluating Websites is an important part of finding reliable information. Anyone can create a website so it is important to evaluate the site for reliability. Websites should meet the following criteria to be considered scholarly:

Accuracy: The site contains accurate information

Authority: The site author or organization is a recognized leader or expert in their field.

Currency: The site is current and regularly updated.

Objectivity: The site provides unbiased and objective information.

Coverage: The site adequately covers their topic and maintains comprehensive focus.

Check out our tutorial on the Research Help page for more help on evaluating resources!

Subject Guide

Veronica Henderson

Email Me

Contact:

256-372-4720

Professional Organizations

National Education Association [NEA]
Alabama Education Association [AEA]
Fighting for teachers, education support professionals, and public education in Alabama.
Educational Associations Listing
Comprehensive listing of different educational associations, with direct links to their websites.