LibGuides: Special Education: Websites

LibGuides Menu

AAMU Special Education Degree Info

Undergraduate Program Information
more...less...
Admission requirements to Department of Education (Junior year) and links to degree requirements, course descriptions.
Early Childhood (P-3) Special Ed. Course Requirements
Class A Certification-Collaborative Ed Teacher, K-6
Collaborative Teacher, 6-12

Scholarly Websites

Alabama Dept of Ed-Courses of Study
This link takes the user directly to all of the currently adopted Courses of Study from grades P-12. Feel free to download what you need for future reference.

This is but a small sampling of good websites for Special Education. Please feel free to "share" useful websites for inclusion in this guide.

Alabama State Department of Education
Alabama's default for everything education. This site contains articles, report cards, legislation (passed and proposed), questions and answers, as well as lesson plans, certification, and degree requirements.
ALEX: Alabama Learning Exchange
ALEX is the portal for approved [scholarly reviewed] lesson plans, a variety of Internet resources, and professional development opportunities, all correlated to Alabama Courses of Study.
Council for Exceptional Children
The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies, sets professional standards, provides professional development, advocates for individuals with exceptionalities, and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice.
IDEA-Office of Special Education
Welcome to the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs’ (OSEP’s) IDEA website. This site was created to provide a "one-stop shop" for resources related to IDEA and its implementing regulations, released on August 3, 2006.
PBS Teachers:Resources for teachers
PBS Teachers is PBS' national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources correlated to state and national educational standards. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. PBS provides thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations.
Special Education Advisor
Special Education Advisor.com is a community of parents, educators, and special education service providers dedicated to helping families with special education needs children understand their special education rights and receive appropriate special education services.
U.S. Department of Education
Provides information about the Department's offices, programs, information and assistance services, funding opportunities, education statistics.

Evaluating Websites

Evaluating Websites is an important part of finding reliable information. Anyone can create a website so it is important to evaluate the site for reliability. Websites should meet the following criteria to be considered scholarly:

Accuracy: The site contains accurate information

Authority: The site author or organization is a recognized leader or expert in their field.

Currency: The site is current and regularly updated.

Objectivity: The site provides unbiased and objective information.

Coverage: The site adequately covers their topic and maintains comprehensive focus.

Check out our tutorial on the Research Help page for more help on evaluating resources!

Subject Guide

Jaquatta Causey, MLIS

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

The J. F. Drake Memorial LRC
4900 Meridian Street #207A/B
Normal, AL 35762

256-372-4719

Professional Organizations

National Education Association [NEA]
Alabama Education Association [AEA]
Fighting for teachers, education support professionals, and public education in Alabama.
Educational Associations Listing
Comprehensive listing of different educational associations, with direct links to their websites.
National Association of Special Education Teachers
The mission of The National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET) is to render all possible support and assistance to professionals who teach children with special needs. NASET seeks to promote standards of excellence and innovation in special education research, practice, and policy in order to foster exceptional teaching for exceptional children.