Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recent Forestry Reports and Research - USDA
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Providing leadership, research, and statistics on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
USDA Forests and Forestry
The United States Department of Agriculture's forestry site including statistics, research, publications, and other resources.
USDA National Agroforestry
NAC accelerates the application of agroforestry through a national network of partners. Together, we conduct research, develop technologies and tools, coordinate demonstrations and training, and provide useful information to natural resource professionals
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Originally established by Congress in 1935 as the Soil Conservation Service (SCS), NRCS has expanded to become a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved, restored, and more resilient to environmental challenges, like climate change.
U.S. Forest Service
Established in 1905, the Forest Service is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The Forest Service manages public lands in national forests and grasslands.
NRCS National Forestry Handbook and Manual
The National Forestry Handbook contains methodology and procedures relative to forestry technology.
U.S. Bureau of Land Management
The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) may best be described as a small agency with a big mission: To sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of America’s public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.
Global Forest Information Service
The Global Forest Information Service (GFIS) is a collaborative effort of forest-related institutions aiming to maximize the value of all forest information resources and providers worldwide through the sharing of forest-related information through a single gateway.
Center for International Forestry Research
The Center for International Forestry Research is a nonprofit, global facility dedicated to advancing human wellbeing, environmental conservation and equity. We conduct research that enables more informed and equitable decision making about the use and management of forests in less-developed countries.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Tree Genes/ Dendrome: A forest tree genome database
Dendrome is a collection of forest tree genome databases and other forest genetic information resources for the international forest genetics community. Dendrome is part of a larger collaborative effort to construct genome databases for major crop and forest species.
State of the World's Forest
The State of the World's Forests reports on the status of forests, recent major policy and institutional developments and key issues concerning the forest sector. It makes current, reliable and policy-relevant information widely available to facilitate informed discussion and decision-making with regard to the world's forests. This tenth edition of State of the World’s Forests explores the role of forests in human history, finding strong links between forest use and economic and social development and between unabated forest destruction and economic decline.
Society of American Foresters
The Society of American Foresters (SAF) is the national scientific and educational organization representing the forestry profession in the United States.
National Association of State Foresters
Established in 1920, the National Association of State Foresters is a non-profit organization comprised of the directors of forestry agencies in the states, territories and the District of Columbia of the United States. State Foresters manage and protect state and private forests, which encompass two-thirds of the nation's forests.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment
USDA Active Fire Mapping Program
A live map of active wildland fires in the United States.
USDA Forest Service Fire & Aviation Management
The Forest Service Fire and Aviation Management is part of the Forest Service and initiates fire research into today's sophisticated analysis of fuels, combustion, weather and safety.
U.S. Fire Administration
The U.S. Fire Administration is the lead Federal agency for fire data collection, public fire education, fire research and Fire Service training.
National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC)
The National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC), located in Boise, Idaho, is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC.
Alabama Forestry Commission
the mission of the Alabama Forestry Commission is three-fold: to Protect the Forests from all harmful agents; to Service and Help Landowners to carry out responsible forest management on their property, using professional technical assistance so as to benefit themselves, their land and society;
Forest Action Plans
Forestry at the Crossroads represents the concerted effort of the Alabama Forestry Commission to assess Alabama’s forest resource.
Alabama Department of Natural Resources
The Official Web site of Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.
Alabama Cooperative Extension
Our objective is to provide Alabamians with the information needed to make natural resource related decisions; from building bluebird boxes, to finding a professional logger, to water quality indicators
Geological Survey of Alabama
The Geological Survey of Alabama, established in 1848, provides service and information to Alabama and its citizens as a natural resource data gathering and research agency
Forestry Research Institute of Ghana
Forestry Research Institute of Ghana is one of the 13 institutes of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). It is located at Fumesua near Kumasi in the Ashanti Region of Ghana. It started as a research unit within the Forestry Department in 1962. It was fully established as a research institute and named FOREST PRODUCTS RESEARCH INSTITUTE (FPRI) under the then Ghana Academy of Sciences in 1964 and in 1968 placed under the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).
World Resources Institute
WRI’s mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth’s environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations.