LibGuides: Mathematics and Statistics: Faculty Resources

Library Information

Course Reserves Policy
Reserve materials for your classes here at the library.
Add to the Library Collection
Submit your library purchase recommendations here. No textbooks please.
Request Class Instruction Sessions
Our Research and Information Literacy team can provide research instruction for your class.
Request Individual Instruction
Do you or one of your students need individual research assistance? Request it here.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find what your looking for in our collection? Request it from a neighboring institution in Interlibrary Loan.

Teaching Resources

Publishing

Cabells
Cabells is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size.
Your Research Impact
A useful guide from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville about how to determine your impact as a researcher.

Teaching Resource

As the subject librarian for the Mathematics department, I can:

Work with you to develop assignments that require scholarly or non-scholarly sources and determine which resources best fit the objectives of the assignment
Create a course page with discipline-specific resources tailored to your class assignments
Visit your class or reserve space in the library to help students find and use information sources
Embed resources into your course site
Help you identify open educational resources or order materials to support your courses.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

The term Open Educational Resources (OERs) refers to any education material that is in the public domain or has been issued with an open license. Anyone can use and adapt these materials for their teaching needs. Below are some collections of OERs with materials relating to mathematics and statistics.

Open Textbook Library
You can make school more affordable for your students by adopting an open access textbook. This collections includes free textbooks in subjects such as linear algebra, calculus, probability, and many more.
College Open Textbooks
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources.
Merlot
Provides access to curated open access class content that includes lessons on many topics such as multivariable calculus, graph theory, and sampling distributions. It also includes instructor-made videos, tutorials for using new software, and test/quiz examples.
My Open Math
Provides an online space for students to work on practice problems and for instructors to use or create open access textbooks. It also provides an online portal where tests, quizzes, and homework can be accessed online where students do the work and receive immediate feedback.
OpenStax
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University with a mission to improve student access to education. It contains 29 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students as is also a platform for creating open access textbooks.
OER Commons
An online platform with Open Access tools such as lectures, games, labs, simulations, and lesson plans on a variety of subjects. This platform also allows you to share open access materials of your own.
Boundless
Contains over 20 open access textbooks, in many subject areas including algebra, calculus, and statistics.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Librarian

Joi Williams

Email Me

Contact:

256-372-8092

Grants

Data Management Plan Tool
Granting agencies want to know your data management plan. This free tool walks you through the creation of your data management plan based on funding organization and discipline. It also has numerous examples of successful DMPs to give you ideas and direction.
Simons Foundation
Targeted Grants in MPS
American Mathematical Society (AMS)
Resources for Funding and Fellowships