Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

1890 Library Deans and Directors: 1890 Land Grant Directory

1890 Land Grant Colleges and Universities

Alabama A&M University

Annie Payton, Ph. D.

Director, LRC and State Black Archives

J.F. Drake Memorial Learning Resources Center

4900 Meridian Street

Normal, Alabama 35762

256-372-4747 (p); 256-372-5768 (f)

Annie.payton@aamu.edu  

http://alabamam.sdp.sirsi.net/client/en_US/default

Alcorn State University

Blanche Sanders

Interim Dean of University Libraries

J.D. Boyd Library

1000 ASU Drive

Alcorn State, Mississippi 39096

601-877-6350 (p); 601-877-3885 (f)

blanche@alcorn.edu 

http://www.alcorn.edu/

Delaware State University

Mr. T. Hunter-Hayes

Dean of University Libraries

William C. Jason Library Learning Resources Center

1200 N. DuPont Highway

Dover, Delaware 19901-2277

302-857-7887 (p); 302-857-6177 (f)

rbatson@desu.edu

http://www.desu.edu/library/library

Florida A&M University

Faye Watkins 

Dean of Libraries

Samuel H. Coleman Memorial Library

1500 South Martin Luther King Boulevard

Tallahassee, Florida 32307

850-599-3370 (p); 850-561-2293 (f)

Faye.watkins@famu.edu

http://library.famu.edu/index

Fort Valley State University

Frank Mahitab

Interim Library Director

Henry A. Hunt Memorial Library

1005 State University Drive

Fort Valley, Georgia 31030

478-825-6754 (p); 478-825-6663 (f)

mahitabf@fvsu.edu

http://library.fvsu.edu/

Kentucky State University

Sheila Stuckey

Director of Libraries

Paul G. Blazer Library

400 East Main Street

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

502-597-6852 (p); 502-597-5068 (f)

sheila.stuckey@kysu.edu

http://kysu.edu/academics/library/

Langston University

Bettye Black

Director of Library Services

G. Lamar Harrison Library

P.O. Box 1500

Langston, Oklahoma 73050

405-466-3294 (p); 405-466-3459 (f)

brblack@lunet.edu

http://www.langston.edu/academics/resources/libraries/catalog-databases-subject-guides

Lincoln University (MO)

Jerome Offord, Jr.

University Librarian

Inman E. Page Library

820 Chestnutt Street

Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

573-681-5502 (p); 573-681-5511 (f)

offordj@lincolnu.edu

http://www.lincoln.edu/departments/langston-hughes-memorial-library

North Carolina A&T State University

Vicki Coleman

Dean of Library Services

F.D. Bluford Library

1601 East Market Street

Greensboro, North Carolina 27411

336-285-4151 ext.54153 (p); 336-334-7281 (f)

vcoleman@ncat.edu

http://www.library.ncat.edu/

Prairie View A&M University

Rosie L. Albritton, Ph.D.

Director of Library Services

John B. Coleman Library

P.O. Box 519 - MS 1040

Prairie View, Texas 77446

936-261-1500 ext. 1510 (p); 936-261-1539 (f)

rlalbritton@pvamu.edu

http://www.pvamu.edu/library/

South Carolina State University

Adrienne C. Webber

Dean, Library and Information Services

Miller F. Whittaker Library

P.O. Box 7491, 300 College Street NE

Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117

803-536-8638 (p); 803-536-8902 (f)

awebber1@scsu.edu

http://library.scsu.edu/

Southern University and A&M College

Emma Bradford Perry

Dean of Libraries

John B. Cade Library

167 Roosevelt Steptoe Avenue

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70813

225-771-4991 (p); 225-771-4113 (f)

eperry@lib.subr.edu

http://www.lib.subr.edu/

Tennessee State University

Murle Kenerson

Interim Dean of Libraries & Media Centers

3500 John A. Merritt Blvd

Nashville, Tennessee 37209

615-963-5212 (p); 615-963-5216 (f)

mkenerson@tnstate.edu

http://www.tnstate.edu/library/

Tuskegee University

Juanita M. Roberts

Director of Library Services

Ford Motor Company Library

Tuskegee University

Tuskegee, Alabama 36088

334-727-8894 (p); 334-727-9282 (f)

jroberts@tuskegee.edu

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Edward Fontenette

Director of Library Services

John B. Watson Library

1200 N. University Drive

Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601

870-575-8848 (p); 870-575-4651 (f)

fontenette_e@uapb.edu

https://www.uapb.edu/administration/academic_affairs/john_brown_watson_memorial_library.aspx

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Ms. Sharon D. Brooks

Co-Acting Dean of Library Services

Mrs. Marvella Rounds

Co-Acting Dean of Library Services

Frederick Douglass Library

11868 Academic Oval

Princess Anne, Maryland 21853

410-651-6621 (p); 410-651-6269 (f)

sdbrooks@umes.edu  410-651-6275 (p)

mrounds@umes.edu  410-651-7697 (p)

https://www.umes.edu/fdl/Default.aspx?id=1538

Virginia State University

Elsie S. Weatherington, Ph.D.

Dean of Library and Media Services

1 Hayden Drive

Petersburg, Virginia 23806

804-524-5040 (p); 804-524-6959 (f)

estephens@vsu.edu

http://library.vsu.edu/

West Virginia State University

Willette F. Stinson, Ph.D. 

Director of Library Services

Drain-Jordan Library

P.O. Box 1000

Institute, West Virginia 25112

304-766-3239 (p); 304-766-4103 (f)

 wstinson@wvstateu.edu

http://library.wvstateu.edu/    

National Agricultural Library

Jennifer Gilbert

Special Asst. to the Director

HBCU Liaison

10301 Baltimore Avenue

Beltsville, MD 20705

Phone: (301) 504-5729

Fax: (301) 504 7042

e-mail: jennifer.gilbert@ars.usda.gov