Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Alabama Teacher Certification topics. This guide has library resources, internet resources, online journals, and short tutorials to help you with the Certification Process. Please explore the guide and feel free to share your comments through the feedback form.
Below you will find links to both websites and databases focused on Education.
Alabama Learning Exchange [ALEX]
ALEX is the Alabama State Department of Education sanctioned lesson plan headquarters. Lesson plans and other electronic content, are academically reviewed and cross-referenced to Courses of Study and grade levels.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator’s Reference Complete is an important tool for today’s educators, providing instant access to more than 1,100 periodicals that cover a wide range of subjects as well as 200 reports from the United States Department of Education.
[database] ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests. Audience: college, teachers, general public
United States Department of Education
Provides information about the Department's offices, programs, information and assistance services, funding opportunities, education statistics, breaking news and many other resources.
TCERT-Teacher Certification Portal
Website contains links to, explanations of, and forms for all types of certification types and processes available in Alabama. Forms are downloadable.
Education Path-TCERT website
The NEW site for keeping pace for how you are progressing towards your Alabama Certification. Also housed on this site are the Teacher Prep Report Cards showing how the State Department of Education rated the programs but also how students rated programs after being in the field. 2008-09 is the most current year.
Alabama Courses of Study
From this link you can search for Courses of Study, grade levels and/or by keyword. Has a Printer-friendly output for your results.
News| Department of Education