Welcome to the research guide for Accounting. This guide has library resources, internet resources, online journals, and short tutorials to help you develop your research. Please explore the guide and feel free to share your comments through the feedback form.
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
“Since 1973, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) has been the designated organization in the private sector for establishing standards of financial accounting. Those standards govern the preparation of financial statements. They are officially recognized as authoritative by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) (Financial Reporting Release No. 1, Section 101, and reaffirmed in its April 2003 Policy Statement) and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (Rule 203, Rules of Professional Conduct, as amended May 1973 and May 1979). Such standards are important to the efficient functioning of the economy because investors, creditors, auditors, and others rely on credible, transparent, and comparable financial information.” (Facts About FASB)
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) is a professional association for accountants. Their Web site gives association news, developments, and career opportunities, as well as links to selected sites.
Association of College and University Auditors (ACUA)
The Association of College and University Auditors (ACUA) is an international professional organization serving institutions of higher education across the globe. Since its establishment in 1958, ACUA has provided its members a collegial forum for exchanging and sharing knowledge and generating new
ideas. ACUA is committed to increasing members' knowledge of auditing, regulatory compliance and risk management in higher education.
Audit.net
A web guide to online accounting resources by Jim Kaplan CIA, CFE, CSM, author of The Auditor's Guide to Internet Resources.
http://www.ais-cpa.com/
The encyclopedia about corporate governance.
http://e.viaminvest.com
https://www.irs.gov
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Formerly U.S. General Accounting Office
http://www.gao.gov/
News and info on the U.K. business and finance sectors
https://www.accountancyage.com/
