The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazines, journals, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities within the state of Alabama.
To access resources, click on either Student Resources > College & University, Adult Resources, or View All Resources.
America’s Historical Newspapers includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. The core of America’s Historical Newspapers is Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922—the most extensive resource of its kind for exploring the American past. The essential complement to Early American Newspapers is American Ethnic Newspapers, which includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.
Featuring news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs spanning over 150 years of African American Life. The content comes from James P. Danky’s monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998), and holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society.
The content in this database was curated from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s acclaimed collection Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922. This collection covers many topical categories such as the growing body of work by African- American writers; the portrayal of African-Americans in art and literature; religion; race; early histories of slavery; the Civil War; Reconstruction; and others.
Spanning eighteen of the most formative years in African-American history, Reconstruction marked an end to slavery and a beginning to the enfranchisement of African Americans. Full citizenship, voting rights, land ownership, employment opportunities, and political participation were only some of the significant gains enjoyed, in theory, by African Americans during this period. Although these rights were granted by amendments to the U.S. Constitution and federal legislation they were not, in practice, universally protected at local levels. The content in this database was curated from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s acclaimed collection Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922.
- Covers the history of Africa and its diverse people over nearly 400 years
- More than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera
- Compiled by the curators of the extraordinary Afro-Americana Imprints collection
- A unique database of 19th-century African newspapers offering all-new coverage
- Created in partnership with the British Library and its world-renowned curators
- An invaluable historical record for students and scholars in dozens of academic disciplines
-One of the world's preeminent collections for African-American studies
-Books, pamphlets, and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints
-Spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century
This database contains thousands of news articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts from around the world. They were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision makers. Where necessary, the materials were translated into English from their original language. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
- An important and controversial topic in American history
- More than 3,500 printed works, all digitized in full color
- Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera
This database contains news reports about apartheid from South Africa and from around the world. The reports include transcripts of radio and television broadcasts as well as articles from newspapers. The reports were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision-makers. The reports were selected for their informational value to keep policy-makers informed of global concerns. When necessary, the reports were translated into English. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
- Works by authors of African or African-American descent
- A fascinating look at the creative efforts of black authors over three centuries
- Compiled by the curators of the acclaimed Afro-Americana Imprints collection
- Covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years
- Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera
- Compiled by the curators of the Afro-Americana Imprints collection
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society covers the arc of American civil rights including subjects related to African Americans and issues associated with other ethnic groups, immigrants, laborers, children, and illegal aliens. The content in this database was submitted to and published by the United States Congress. The collection includes publications and reports from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations, and non-governmental organizations.
NEW USERS MUST REGISTER FOR ACCESS
LOGIN REQUIRED FOR ACCESS
Global Financial Data is a collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; Total Return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates covering over 200 countries.
Gathered and translated from foreign media for the United States’ Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994 provides essential information on one of the world’s most intriguing and volatile regions.
- Acclaimed 20th-century newspaper contains a wealth of unique perspectives on South Africa and the African continent
- First newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall
- A complete, fully searchable digital edition featuring every page of every issue
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more. Includes Packages Below:
African American Periodicals
African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest
African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
America's Historical Imprints
African History and Culture
Afro-Americana Imprints
Black Authors
Caribbean History and Culture
The American Slavery Collection
America's Historical Newspapers
African American Newspapers Series 1&2
Caribbean Newspapers
American Race Relations
Apartheid
Civil Rights in America
Middle East and North Africa
Rand Daily Mail
World Newspaper Archive
African Newspapers
