This is the "LRC Guides" page of the "Open Access Databases and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Access Databases and Resources  

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.aamu.edu/openaccess Print Guide RSS Updates
LRC Guides Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Open Access(FREE)

In general, an open access publication refers to a publication that provides immediately free online access to all users worldwide. Over the years, freely open accessible resources are growing. There are many web sites which list open access journal collections and individual journals. The following selected open accessible websites are recommended to support the online degree management program at AAMU.

Students or faculty that has problems accessing a site should contact a librarian at Ask a Librarian.

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals  http://www.doaj.org/

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.  The directory includes over 7,000 journals that is freely available online.

HighWire Press  http://highwire.stanford.edu/lists/freeart.dtl   a division of Stanford University Libraries, is an ePublishing platform and partners with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses to facilitate the digital dissemination of 1465+ journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.

IngentaConnect Backfiles. http://eyetoeye.ingenta.com/library/issue16/news-freestuff.htm  Ingentaconnect offers one of the most comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) http://www.ssrn.com/

SSRN is composed of specialized research networks/journals in the social sciences: Accounting, Economics, Financial Economics, Legal Scholarship, Management, Negotiations.

PubMed Central This database, from the U.S. National Institutes of Health, has more than 2 million open access, full-text studies that relate to public health and policy issues. The more general PubMed database contains more than 20 million articles, but some of them have restricted access. Both databases are worth searching.

Google Scholar: This database is free to anyone, but access to the studies listed in your search results may be restricted. If you can’t get a particular study itself through a university/library affiliation, be sure to click “All Versions” at the bottom of the search result. Many scholars now post on their websites early PDF versions of their studies, and many of these will be listed. Google Scholar is where you’ll also have a chance to see findings in some scholarly books.

Microsoft Academic Search: Microsoft Academic Search is a free service developed by Microsoft Research to help scholars, scientists, students, and practitioners quickly and easily find academic content, researchers, institutions, and activities. Microsoft Academic Search indexes not only millions of academic papers, it also surfaces key relationships between and among subjects, content, and authors in a manner that highlights the critical links that help define scientific research. Microsoft Academic Search makes it easy for you to direct your search experience in interesting and heretofore hidden directions with its suite of unique features and visualizations.

Open CRS: The Congressional Research Service (CRS) operates as a quasi-think tank that provides reliable, unbiased background on policy issues. CRS does a good job of reviewing available research on issues. Open CRS aggregates these government reports as they come into the public domain.

The Brookings Institution: A non-profit think tank, Brookings has a large network of scholars that produce reports and papers on a wide variety of important news topics.

www.gpo.gov. Anyone can visit Federal depository libraries and use the Federal documents collections, which are filled with information on careers, business opportunities, health and nutrition, laws and regulations, statistical data, demographics, consumer information, and numerous other subjects. Participating libraries can be located via http://catalog.gpo.gov/fdlpdir/FDLPdir.jsp.
GPO also disseminates a massive amount of Federal information online free of charge through the Federal Digital System (FDsys, at
www.fdsys.gov). FDsys has approximately 380,000 Government documents available across 41 collections. Since launching the Web site in January 2009, has achieved more than 200 million retrievals.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)  is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline. It provides:

  • Open-access—freely accessible online, authors retain copyright
  • Fast publication times
  • Peer review by expert, practicing researchers
  • Post-publication tools to indicate quality and impact
  • Community-based dialogue on articles
  • Worldwide media coverage

 

                           Information gathered to compile this document were obtained from the company website. AAMU Drake LRC, December 2012

 

Popular Links

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip