This is the "New Acquisitions 10/10/14" page of the "New Acquisitions @ your LRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Acquisitions @ your LRC   Tags: books, holdings, new acquisitions, new additions, new materials, reference  

List of items added to collection - updated weekly (usually on Fridays)
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.aamu.edu/new_acq Print Guide RSS Updates

New Acquisitions 10/10/14 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books [Featured]-Main

Cover Art
Facing the Music - Huib Schippers
Call Number: MT 1 .S34 2010
ISBN: 0195379764
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
"Facing the Music investigates the practices and ideas that have grown from some five decades of cultural diversity in music education, developments in ethnomusicology, and the rise of 'world music'. "

Cover Art
Human Subjects Research after the Holocaust - Sheldon Rubenfeld (Editor); Susan Benedict (Editor)
Call Number: R 853 .H8 H86 2014
ISBN: 3319057014
Publication Date: 2014-07-17
"Human Subjects Research after the Holocaust challenges you to confront the misguided medical ethics of the Third Reich personally, and to apply the lessons learned to contemporary human subjects research."

Cover Art
Wind Talk for Brass - Mark C. Ely; Amy E. Van Deuren
Call Number: MT 418 .E49 2009
ISBN: 0195329244
Publication Date: 2009-08-20
"Wind Talk for Brass provides instrumental music teachers, practitioners, and students with a handy, easy-to-use pedagogical resource for brass instruments found in school instrumental programs."

Cover Art
Environmental Sociology - Leslie King (Editor); Deborah McCarthy Auriffeille (Editor)
Call Number: GE 195 .E588 2014
ISBN: 1442220767
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
"Environmental Sociology encourages students to use the sociological imagination to explore a broad spectrum of issues facing the environment today"

Cover Art
Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs - Alice Hammel; Ryan M. Hourigan
Call Number: MT 17 .H36 2011
ISBN: 0195395417
Publication Date: 2011-02-09
"A practical guide & reference manual, Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs addresses special needs in the broadest possible sense to equip teachers with proven, research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law"

Cover Art
Antibiofilm Agents - Kendra P. Rumbaugh (Editor); Iqbal Ahmad (Editor)
Call Number: QR 100.8 .B55 .A585 2014
ISBN: 3642538320
Publication Date: 2014-05-22
"This book provides a survey of recent advances in the development of antibiofilm agents for clinical and environmental applications."

Cover Art
Practices for Engaging the 21st Century Workforce - William G. Castellano
Call Number: HF 5549 .C334 2014
ISBN: 0133086372
Publication Date: 2013-09-20
"In Practices for Engaging the 21st Century Workforce , Bill Castellano presents a comprehensive, innovative model of engagement that responds to today’s new realities, and helps you anticipate tomorrow’s."

Cover Art
The Physics of Wall Street - James Owen Weatherall
Call Number: HG 4910 .W357 2013
ISBN: 0547317271
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
"The Physics of Wall Street is riveting history that will change how we think about our economic future."

Cover Art
Software Takes Command - Lev Manovich
Call Number: QA 76.9 .C66 M3625 2013
ISBN: 162356817X
Publication Date: 2013-07-04
"Software Takes Command is a must for all practicing designers and media artists and scholars concerned with contemporary media."

Cover Art
The Idea-Driven Organization - Alan G. Robinson; Dean M. Schroeder
Call Number: HF 5549.5 .S8 R67 2014
ISBN: 1626561230
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
"Citing organizations from around the world, they explain what’s needed to put together a management team that can lead the type of organization that embraces grassroots ideas and describe the strategies, policies, and practices that enable them.

Cover Art
Marriage Markets - Naomi Cahn; June Carbone
Call Number: HQ 536 .C348 2014
ISBN: 0199916586
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
"In Marriage Markets, June Carbone and Naomi Cahn examine how macroeconomic forces are transforming our most intimate and important spheres, and how working class and lower income families have paid the highest price. "

Cover Art
Overbooked - Elizabeth Becker
Call Number: G 155 .A1 B382 2013
ISBN: 1439160996
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
"In a groundbreaking book, Elizabeth Becker uncovers how what was once a hobby has become a colossal enterprise with profound impact on countries, the environment, and cultural heritage."

Cover Art
When Soldiers Fall - Steven Casey
Call Number: U 163 .C265 2014
ISBN: 0199890382
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
"When Soldiers Fall takes a new look at the way Americans have dealt with the toll of armed conflict. "

Cover Art
Early Start - Andrew Karch
Call Number: LC 89 .K365 2013
ISBN: 0472118722
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
"In his close analysis of the politics of preschool education, Karch demonstrates how to apply the concepts of policy feedback, critical junctures, and venue shopping to the study of social policy."

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Land Economics - Joshua M. Duke (Editor); JunJie Wu (Editor)
Call Number: HD 111 .O94 2013
ISBN: 0199763747
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
"The Oxford Handbook of Land Economics describes the latest developments in the fields of economics that examine land, including natural resource economics, environmental economics, regional science, and urban economics."

Cover Art
Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators - David Fischer; Thomas Moriarty
Call Number: SF 538.5 .P65 P47 2014
ISBN: 1118852524
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
"Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators focuses on the role pesticides play in impacting bee populations and looks to develop a risk assessment process, along with the data to inform that process, to better assess the potential risks that can accompany the use of pesticide products."

Cover Art
The Definitive Guide to Entertainment Marketing - Al Lieberman; Pat Esgate
Call Number: P 96 .M36 L54 2013
ISBN: 0133092089
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
"Covers film, cable, broadcast, music, sports, publishing, social media, gaming, and more
Reflects powerful trends ranging from smartphones to globalization."

Cover Art
The Mortgage Wars: Inside Fannie Mae, Big-Money Politics, and the Collapse of the American Dream - Timothy Howard
Call Number: HG 2040.5 .U5 H69 2014
ISBN: 0071821090
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
"The Mortgage Wars tells the real story for the first time, showing how an $11 trillion dollar industry really fights its battles, for better or worse. Timothy Howard also shares his insights on how to keep the mortgage finance system safe, offering invaluable, prescriptive advice for all of us as we move forward into an uncertain future."

Cover Art
The Handbook of Personal Area Networking Technologies and Protocols - Dean Anthony Gratton
Call Number: TK 5105.76 .G73 2013
ISBN: 0521197260
Publication Date: 2013-08-29
"This handbook offers an unparalleled view of wireless personal area networking technologies and their associated protocols."

Cover Art
Accounting and Auditing Research and Databases - Thomas R. Weirich
Call Number: HF 5630 .W388 2012
ISBN: 1118420071
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
"Accounting and Auditing Research & Databases: A Practitioner's Desk Reference focuses on the practical aspects of professional accounting and auditing research with step-by-step guidance to research resources to provide you with the skills you need to improve within your organization."

Cover Art
Every Molecule Tells a Story - Simon Cotton
Call Number: QD 461 .C655 2012
ISBN: 1439807736
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
"Unveiling the structures of poisonous "natural" substances and beneficial man-made molecules, this book brushes away any preconceived notions about chemistry to demonstrate why and how molecules matter."

Cover Art
Reading the Visual - Frank Serafini; James Paul Gee (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 1068 .S468 2014
ISBN: 0807754722
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
"''Reading the Visual is based on wide scholarship; it brings that to a point of profound insight and of intense practicality. Those taking first steps into the area will find a path smoothed by a seductively simple style; those there already are offered constant insight and challenge. It is a book that will be valued by both kinds of reader.''"

 

Reference Titles

There are no new REFERENCE books this week. Please check back later.

Cover Art
The Merck Index - Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: RS 51 .M4 2013
ISBN: 1849736707
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
"The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals."

Librarian

Profile Image
Holly O'Neal, MLIS
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
J.F. Drake Memorial Learning Resources Center
256-372-4719
Send Email

LRC General Information

New Material Request

Want to suggest a new resource for the LRC?  Please contact Holly O'Neal, Acquisitions Librarian at 256-372-4719.  You may click on the link below to submit your requests electronically.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip